Georgia's Golden Isles are steeped in hundreds of years of history. St. Simons Island's rich and extensive past draws visitors year after year to explore its unique charm. With area folklore, stately plantations, monumental battle sites, and historic churches, culture and history abounds on St. Simons Island.
Explore the last intact maritime forest on St. Simons Island. Shell middens dating back to 2500 BCE are on the site, as well as plantation ruins dating back to the 19th century.
Open to the public Saturdays 7am – 1pm; Sundays & Mondays 9am – 3pm
If you prefer a more in-depth tour of Cannon's Point Preserve, the Coastal Georgia Historical Society has partnered with the St. Simons Land Trust to offer history tours. These personalized tours will provide an overview of the history of Cannon's Point with emphasis on the 19th century. Archaeology consultant Myrna Crook, who serves on the Cannon's Point History Task Force, will be leading tour groups limited to 16. Participants will receive an in-depth interpretation of this historic site, including the John Couper family and life at Cannon's Point during the plantation period.
Pre-registration is required by visiting saintsimonslighthouse.org.
Dates: Visit SaintSimonsLighthouse.org
Cost: $95 per person; Pre-registration is required by visiting saintsimonslighthouse.org. Location: Meet at A.W. Jones Heritage Center, 610 Beachview Drive, St. Simons
Fort Frederica – Frederica is a story of
dreams, struggle, victory, and defeat. Established in 1736, the fort guarded
Georgia’s southern frontier. More than a fort, the town of Frederica was
home to colonists seeking to start a new life. Park Ranger-led tours and
soldier/colonial life programs throughout the year recall life in Georgia's
second town. The park visitor center features exhibits and an orientation
film, which is shown every 30 minutes. Admission fee. Visitor
Center open daily (except Christmas Day) 9 am to 5 pm.
Christ Church – This lovely, historic church
was built in 1883 by Anson Phelps dodge Jr. as a memorial to his first
wife. In 1736 John and Charles Wesley, acknowledged as the fathers of
the Methodist church, began holding services under the live oak trees near the
location of Christ Church. Open daily (except Christmas Day) 2 pm to 5 pm.
Click to view the YouTube video here.
St. Simons Island Lighthouse Museum &
A.W. Jones Heritage Center – Whether you climb the 129 circular
steps to the top of the lighthouse, or explore the original keeper’s dwelling
(now the Lighthouse Museum of the Coastal Georgia Historical Society) at its
base, you’ll discover new and absorbing perspectives on St. Simons Island and
its rich history. Visitors enter the museum through the A.W. Jones Heritage
Center, featuring "The Sea Island Summit: Coastal Georgia welcomes the
World". This exhibit tells the story of the 2004 Group of Eight Sea
Island Summit. The center also features a state-of-the-art research
library and a rather popular store that carries a variety of books, gifts, and other items
related to the lighthouse and St. Simons Island heritage. Admission fee for
Lighthouse Museum; free admission for the Jones Heritage Center. Open
Monday-Saturday 10 am to 5 pm; Sunday 1:30 pm to 5 pm. Summer hours (Easter to
mid-August): Mon., Wed., Fri. and Sat. 10 am to 5 pm; Tues. and Thurs. 10
am to 9 pm; Sun. 1:30 pm to 5 pm. Click to view the YouTube video here.
The Coastal Maritime Center –
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this Roosevelt-era Coast
Guard Station now offers a very personal encounter with the coast’s nature and
its fascinating history. Seven galleries feature a variety of hands-on exhibits
and activities. May - August, the outdoor nature center offers hands-on nature
tours, workshops, and programs for visitors of all ages. Admission fee. Open
Monday - Saturday 10 am to 5 pm; closed Sunday. Summer hours (Memorial Day to
Labor Day): Monday - Saturday 3 pm to 9 pm; closed Sunday. Click to view
the YouTube video here.
Cap Fendig and crew provide a complete and thorough tour of St. Simons. Cap is an island native whose family arrived here in the mid 1800’s, and he has a passion for sharing the secrets of coastal Georgia. Lighthouse Trolleys tours of St. Simons cover every major historical site with stops at Christ Church, Ft. Frederica, Bloody Marsh, The Avenue of Oaks, St. Simons Village and the Lighthouse. All tours depart from the Pier Village at the foot of the St. Simons Fishing Pier. Operates year round.
Schedules and information can be found at
St. Simons Colonial Island Tours has served The Golden Isles since 2011; offering comprehensive historic tours on St. Simons along with premium private transport for the island and surrounding area. The trolley is locally owned and operated, with the owner as your guide 100% of the time. This level of quality control ensures an excellent experience for all guests. William of Orange - the appropriately-named mode of transport - is the only trolley on the island to sport air conditioning and wheelchair accessibility. Anybody can comfortably enjoy the ride. Meet the trolley right at the pier next to the blue sunbrellas, just look for the orange trolley and ask for Captain Rod. Tickets are purchased right at the trolley, cash or credit cards are accepted. Advance reservations recommended for large parties - call 912-268-0363.
St. Simons Trolley Tours– You will truly enjoy the entertaining and informative narrative of 400 years of island history and folklore as you ride along in the Original Vintage Green Trolley. The drive-by tour includes the Lighthouse, Battle of the Bloody Marsh site, Fort Frederica, and a walking tour of Christ Church. We also point out the best places to eat, shop, and play. Public tour leaves daily at 11:00am from The Pier at 117 Mallery Street. Tour length is 90 minutes. Reservations are not required, but please arrive early. Trolley also available for weddings, parties and private tours.
Saint Simons Island Ghost Walk –
Join the Ghost Walk of Saint Simons for a fun-filled and informative glimpse
into old Saint Simons Island. Listen to strange tales of legends, lovers, and
the lost... as well as quite a few who won’t stay lost. Let yourself be guided by
lamplight through the moonlit streets and moss-draped passageways of the
Village, Neptune and St. Simons parks.
Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation –
This beautiful plantation represents the history and culture of Georgia’s rice
coast in the early 1900’s. The museum features silver from the family
collection and a model of the Hofwyl-Broadfield during its heyday.
Three Oaks Carriage Service
Three Oaks Carriage Service offers a unique and novel experience to our guests as a full-service carriage company. They offer Village Area Tours, Dinner Outings, Christmas Caroling, Weddings, Sunday Church Transport, Princess Birthday Parties, Special Events, and their famous Winter Sleigh Rides. Call 912-506-8321 or 912-269-0623 for information on summer weekend rides from the Resort to the Village. For all other inquiries, call 912-635-9500.