Celebrating Over 80 Years of Hospitality
The King and Prince Club opened as a seaside dance club in 1935. Six years later, on July 2, 1941, the main hotel building opened to the public as the King and Prince Hotel and was immediately praised for its modern features and magnificent ocean views.
During World War II, the hotel served as a naval coast-watching and training facility, reopening in 1947 to resume its popularity as a favorite island resort with its gracious Mediterranean architecture. The hotel enjoyed extensive renovation and expansions in 1972 and again in 1983, becoming a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America in 1996. In 2003, the Resort’s cherished core–the historic main building–underwent a stunning restoration and enhancement project, resulting in 57 new guest rooms and signaling a new era in the guest experience. In 2005, the Resort was named to the National Register of Historic Places.
From 2010-2013, the Resort underwent a Castle Makeover, resulting in new culinary offerings and updated common areas. The resulting restaurant, ECHO, pays tribute to St. Simons' brief naval history, through its name and nautical decor. The bright atrium lobby welcomes guests to sit by the fireplace and the ECHO bar, open daily from morning til late night. The oceanfront pool complex was also redesigned, with a paver-style deck, pergolas, all new furnishings and umbrellas.
Throughout the many changes over our 83 years of service, one thing has remained the same: we provide our guests superior service, outstanding accommodations, and unrivaled Southern hospitality.